You don’t act Latino!

 

acting-latinoOne time, someone told me that I didn’t act Puerto Rican. This could easily be changed to say that I didn’t act Latina. Most people are used to seeing Latinos act a certain way, just like they are used to seeing them look a certain way. This ties into how Latinos are portrayed in TV and film, but it should be said that unfortunately, Latinos aren’t the only minority group that has to deal with this.

For example, I have never seen a Latino lead in a romantic comedy movie in which he has a successful career as well. The truth is that there are men and women like that out there, but people don’t see it being represented in the media.

I am a shy, introverted, educationally conscious Latina, which goes against the recurring stereotype of loud, reckless, and ignorant stereotypes that plagues many TV programs and films.

My example of intelligent and responsible Latinos have been my parents, but it’s a shame that kids who don’t have that cannot turn to TV or film for good examples. My hope is that younger Latinos will have a Latino or Latina character that encourages them to accomplish their goals. We cannot keep relying of Dora the Explorer.

Leave a comment